Your position: Home > Robotics > Robot Kit
Customer Reviews
Recent Reviews
  • Byalls perfect ! Dave is the best !
  • Jun 11, 2017
perfect pakage. easy install.  the best of PC Program !

  • ByRoberto Fernandes Junior
  • Apr 18, 2017
Hi , I a Control Engineer and im interested on this robot, i work also with teaching kids in all kind of projects
And to see what components are used in this project
Kuman Wifi control Robot for Arduino Utility Vehicle Intelligent Robotics, Hd Camera Ds Smart Educational Kits PC iOS Android controlled SM5-1

  • ByAlex Thiel
  • Apr 10, 2017
I got this robot so that I could work on SLAM algorithms for navigating around my house. My ultimate goal is to pick up trash from the floor and take it to a trash can. I think it's a great little machine, the wifi board is easy enough to work with, and I do all of my algorithms from my desktop so I never run into processing issues. The arm could be a little longer, but that depends on your needs. Overall it's a great kit for makers everywhere.

  • ByJim M.
  • Apr 10, 2017
This thing is cool! It’s really well made and sturdy. It was packaged well, and was very easy to assemble. I love the robot arm! His name is Larry (named by my daughter) and he is a fun addition to the house.
I actually expected it to be more difficult or involved to build, but it was pretty easy, because the main chassis with the treads and motors comes ready to go in the box. It took me just a couple of hours to build. The instructions were a little bit confusing, because there were instructions for a couple of different models in the same booklet. But it’s not a problem- they have videos you can look at, which are very helpful. And really, it’s not too complicated- Here’s my version: You just attach the robot arm to the front of the body, attach the camera assembly to the middle. Then you stack the boards- There are three and they stack right on top of each other. Mount the boards to the back and then plug the servos and motors in to the top board. The servos for the arm and the camera all plug in together along the same header line on the motor board. Plug the camera USB into the Wifi board and there’s another micro USB to power the wifi board. There’s a power jumper to give power to the servo board – don’t forget that one. That’s about it.
I used the Android app and the iPhone app and they both work fine. It’s definitely fun to roll around and pick up things with the robot arm. The camera quality is good, and the range is really good via the two wifi antennae. My kids have loved controlling it and it just looks cool rolling around the house. The dog is still making friends with Larry but they are getting there.
I haven’t gotten the PC control software working, but the mobile apps worked fine. One other thing was that one of the servos had somehow gotten its wires pulled out. Not a problem, I just unscrewed the servo and re-attached them. That was the only time I used my soldering iron in the entire build.
It has been fun playing with this as-is, but I think the real value of this kit is the potential for building on it. The chassis is strong, so you can add extra things to it. I plan to replace the Arduino-style brain of this robot with a Raspberry Pi. Then I can get in and do some more advanced programming. I plan to add some other sensors, and a microphone and speaker.
Pros:
Easy build overall. No soldering needed.
Strong, solid chassis – can hold additional components later.
Robot arm has 4 servos for great control.
Easy to modify and add on later.
Cons:
PC software was giving me some trouble.
Conclusion:
This is a great package- well-built and easy to assemble. It’s a nice size and the robot arm is awesome. If you shop for just a tank tread chassis like this by itself, they aren’t cheap. Same with a stand-alone robot arm. So overall I think this kit is very cool. And as mentioned, my main excitement about it relates to future modding and adding on to it as I go.

  • Byjoel olsen
  • Feb 22, 2017
I would have to say if your curious and new to robotics and programming, you must get
*If your love tinkering you must get
*if your an inventor you must get
*the only time if you love this type of project and shouldn't get this is if you can't afford it!
I Think This Item is Worth every Penny

  • ByDan. H.
  • Feb 22, 2017
I've had my KUMAN SM5-1 for about 6 weeks now--it's been a great adventure.

As one review says "this thing just works" another review says that the SM5-1 is a "tinker's dream"--I could not agree more with both statements, It was great fun--and educating to build, especially as when you finish--it works! But the next stage is even more fun, at least to me-to continue to "tinker" with it. As an example, even though the camera mount that comes with the SM5-1 is very adequate, I looked for and mounted-for the fun of it, a mount that is a bit sturdier. This process of tinkering is still going on--I plan to continue tinkering--additional sensors may be next.

The instructions, included pictures and video work, but there is a fair amount of "interpretation" required - but you can tell that a lot of work has gone into interpreting the original Chinese into English. Everything I needed to build and operate the unit was included on the CD, including the Arduino sketch.. There is no need to modify the sketch code at all--it works!

As for "support"--all I can say is that they really want us customer's to be satisfied. I've never been or felt neglected by the technicians. My only wish is that KUMAN would list more accessories--if they did, I'd buy them.

I'm 70 and I'm looking forward to seeing some grandkids to show off "my toy". Maybe this will finally get them interested in engineering and programming.

  • ByGARY
  • Feb 22, 2017
I pondered this kit for awhile. I read the previous reviews and like many was unsure. Well i jumped in as i have a larger scale project i am planing and needed a complete kit that was cooler than the ardruino starter kit. Yes this is not a simple look at the directions and piece it together like legos. The directions are a bit of an issue due to language barriers. The actual components included are great everything works. Inspect the battery pack as mine had a short at the solder connections. The customer service from Kuman shop is outstanding. They emailed me the new links within a few hours. If you have worked with rc cars, ham radio gear, or computer boards this kit is awesome. If you are looking for a plug and play dont use your mind type thing i would look for a ready to run unit.

  • Byrebecca
  • Nov 19, 2016
Seller provided all the instructions and video for me when i paid. And they also answered my question very patiently. This set is an Arduino course and very good for learning. My son spent a few hours to learn from tutorials about this kit, finally he worked it well and loves so much.I believe it is really a very important for him.

  • Previous
  • 1
  • Next